Simply Z

Celebrating Simply You

2012 Uniquely You Summit

A little over 2 months ago I held my biggest event, the Be You – Youth Celebration Concert.  It was at this concert I invited CEO/Founder of the Uniquely You Summit for Girls, Shaleah Lache’ Sutton to speak about her organization to a room of 180+.  Not knowing that 2 weeks later, I would be offered the opportunity to assist Shaleah with the logistics of her 3rd annual Summit.

I agreed!  More importantly, I love the vision the Summit offers to 500 girls.  This year…

Through the incitement of individuality, the 3rd Annual Uniquely YOU Summit infused and nurtured self-esteem by encouraging the girls to discover who they are really meant to be; uniquely define and become who they are; and provoke an unconditional love for themselves!

Photo Credit- Marla Harris

On my end, what felt like months of planning, only happened in a matter of a month, and was worth every moment.  Along with assisting Shaleah, planning a sleepover and supporting my sister, as she sang for the 2 day event- I couldn’t help but wonder the impact this event would have on 500 girls.

An impact it has, not only on the girls, but the adults as well.  So much so, it caused a “round table” discussion on how to keep UYS pumping for years to come.

Photo Credit- Marla Harris

Eraka Rouzorondu, MC Lyte, Beverly Bonds and Shaleah Lache’ herself, spoke to the girls words of wisdom.  While they received a 2 day “Male Estimation” from the likes of Greg Corbin, Curran J. Swint, Kevin Carr and Seff Al-Afriqi.

Although I didn’t have an opportunity to witness, it is my belief that one of the most powerful parts of this 2 day event was- the Girl Exchange (GXC) sessions.  This is a chance for girls, to share their stories and hear the stories of their peers.  Realizing, they are not alone when dealing with what life has already thrown their way at the ages of 11-18.

What I love about the Summit is although it is 2 days to empower, it is also a time for the girls to let loose and have a good time.  They started their weekend with a Pep Rally, songstress, and ended with Deejay007 doing the Wobble!

I was able to speak with Ms. Sutton a day after, hoping she wasn’t to tired for a conversation.  Yet, we hung up inspired to grow, develop and touch more lives.

I’m grateful to have been able to use my gift and be part of an amazing event with so many amazing people.  Which is why, I encourage you all to follow UYS throughout the year, and see the new and exciting things to come.  Coming in 2013 is the continuation of the “Become Who You Are” series at the African-American Museum of Philadelphia.  Most importantly, I hope to see you at the 2013 Uniquely You Summit for Girls!  In the meantime, don’t forget to be #UniquelyYOU.

Signed,

Simply Z

For more photos of the event head over to Uniquely You Summit FB Page.

FB- Uniquely You Summit

Twitter- @UniquelyUSummit

September 19, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment